The Thompson Local News

Les Ellsworth named Deputy Mayor, new chairs and youth members appointed in recent organizational meeting

There were some shake-ups during Wednesday night’s city council organizational meeting.


Les Ellsworth was appointed as Deputy Mayor, taking the reins from Councillor Kathy Valentino, who had served in the position three times before.


Ellsworth will also chair the Finance and Legislative and Government Affairs committees, and will co-chair the Development Review committee.


During yesterday’s City Beat, Mayor Colleen Smook explained the reason why she decided Ellsworth was up to the task was because he had the most amount of votes during last year’s municipal election, and worked hard during his first year as a councillor.


Smook also ran down the other new committee chairs and members, and appointed the new Youth Members from R.D. Parker Collegiate, who are listed below:


City of Thompson Committee Chairs 2019-2020


Finance and Administration

Chair: Deputy Mayor Les Ellsworth

Vice-Chair: Councillor Kathy Valentino


Human Resources

Chair: Councillor Judy Kolada

Vice-Chair: Councillor Earl Colbourne


Public Works and Infrastructure

Chair: Councillor Kathy Valentino

Vice-Chair: Councillor Andre Proulx


Public Safety

Chair: Councillor Brian Lundmark

Vice-Chair: Councillor Duncan Wong


Recreation and Community Services

Chair: Councillor Jeff Fountain

Vice-Chair: Councillor Kathy Valentino


Legislative and Intergovernmental Affairs

Chair: Deputy Mayor Les Ellsworth

Vice Chairs: Councillors Duncan Wong and Brian Lundmark


Development Review

Chair: Councillor Judy Kolada

Vice-Chair: Councillor Brian Lundmark



Chair: Councillor Andre Proulx

Vice-Chair: Deputy Mayor Les Ellsworth


Board of Revision

Chair: Councillor Earl Colbourne

Vice Chairs: Councillors Judy Kolada and Andre Proulx

Secretary to the Board: Tammy Parobec, Executive Assistant


Youth Members of the Standing Committees

Kendra Martinussen: Recreation and Community Services Commitee

Jasraj Kullar: Communications Committee

Taylar Hanson-Oliveira: Public Safety Committee

Karisma Vyas: Finance and Administration Committee

Drew Heskin: Student Delegate to City Council


Visitor Poll

What do you miss most because of COVID-19 restrictions?
Add a Comment
(Fields are Optional)

Your email address is never published.

"Your" Calendar


          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30