Thompson Sports News

Canada will face Italy, Sweden and Chile in Davis Cup title defence

Defending champion Canada will face Italy, Sweden and Chile in the group stage of the 2023 Davis Cup men's tennis tournament.

Canada, the No. 1 country in the Davis Cup rankings, was selected as the top seed of Group A, which will play its matches at Unipol Arena in Bologna, Italy, from Sept. 12-17.

The top two teams from each group will qualify for the knockout stages (quarterfinals, semifinals, and final) in Malaga, Spain.

Canada won its first Davis Cup title when a team led by Montreal's Felix Auger-Aliassime, Denis Shapovalov of Richmond Hill, Ont., and Vancouver's Vasek Pospisil defeated Australia 2-0 in last year's championship tie in Malaga.

Canada advanced to the 2022 final with a 2-1 semifinal victory over Italy.

No. 2 Australia was drawn with host Britain, France and Switzerland into Group B, which will be hosted in Manchester, England.


Visitor Poll

When does the Christmas season officially start for you?
Add a Comment
(Fields are Optional)

Your email address is never published.


"Your" Calendar


      1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30